EAC Thesis Award

The Expatriate Archive Centre (EAC) created a Master’s Thesis Award to celebrate and reward talents who produce outstanding master’s theses that help to further understand the impact of expatriation on people’s lives.

The winner of the thesis award will receive €500, the executive summary of the thesis will be published online by the EAC and organisations involved in this initiative.

How To Apply

The Open Call for the 2024 EAC Thesis Award is closed now. The next EAC Thesis Award will take place in 2026.
Read more about how to apply

About the Thesis Award

Expatriates as a group tend to ‘fall through the cracks’ when it comes to being represented in official government archives, as well as in global migration studies. We endeavour to shift and expand understandings of what an ‘expatriate’ is.
Learn more about the EAC Thesis Award


There are five jury members: two permanent and three guest jurors. Guest jurors are experts in their field and are selected by the EAC and the chairperson of the jury.
Read more about 2024 jurors

Partner Organisations

The EAC works with participating organisations in promoting the award and its winner. Partner organisations are promoted on the EAC website and on its social media channels.
Learn more about the award’s partner organisations

Award Winners

The 2021 EAC Thesis Award winner was Aaisha Zafar Islam of York & Ryerson Universities in Toronto, Canada!
Read more about the winning thesis